crazychickenladyslc

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Spilled Turnip Seeds

Leave a comment




I have been starting as many of my veggies as possible from seed this year. I have never tried turnips before and to be honest I can only remember eating turnips one time in my life, but I found the seeds on sale so I decided to give them a try. After spilling  my seeds into the seed starter, which has created quite an adorable little bush I looked up a little about the turnip and it turns out I probably should have been eating them all along. Turnips are healthy and versatile, for instance check out the nutrition facts for one small turnip:

Calories 17
Total Fat 0.1 g
Saturated Fat 0 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg
Sodium 41 mg
Total Carbs 4 g
Dietary Fiber 1 g
Sugars 2 g
Protein 1 g
Vitamin C 13 mg
Calcium 18 mg
Iron 0.2 mg

That’s not bad for a tiny little vegetable that I just happened to plant because the seeds were on sale. I also found a few recipes that use turnips that I know my family will actually eat. I’ll give you that my family is a little more accepting than most, but I was pretty excited about these. Here’s hoping that I haven’t trashed my seeds by planting them as a bush 🙂

Author: Exploringutah

Mother,wife,sister, daughter and lover of all things in my backyard, who just happens to have Multiple Sclerosis :)

Leave a Reply

